is C really more low level than C++

So I've been learning how to program on and off for about 3 years now,

I first started with Java, I then changed to C++ as my overall goal was to learn how computers work at a lower level, recently I have encountered a few comments that implied C is lower level than C++ and if one wants to get a better understanding of how their underlying systems work they should use C rather than C++,

but isn't it true you can pretty much do everything in C++ that you can do in C, I wouldn't go as far to say C++ is a superset of C but it's close to it

so why would C be lower level if you can pretty much do everything you could in C with C++?
C is not “lower level” than C++.

However, it is significantly smaller, and the C Standard Library lacks a lot of the higher-level constructs that C++ provides, like containers and algorithms.

Also, C++ is a superset of C — by design.
There are incompatibilities between the two languages, but by and large you should be able, with minimal refactoring, to compile a C program with a C++ compiler. If you wish to learn more, the following link is a very old one, but it is still a good one: http://david.tribble.com/text/cdiffs.htm

[edit] Fixed typo
Last edited on
I would argue that C++ is capable of higher-level abstractions than C, while being capable of equally-low-level abstractions as C.
C is not “lower level” than C++.
Correct weight!

"A low-level programming language is a programming language that provides little or no abstraction from a computer's instruction set architecture."

So, C and C++ are both high level languages. The differences are far too complex, (or far too simple, if you like!) to make a bold statement that one is higher than the other on some fictitious perch or level.

http://www.stroustrup.com/bs_faq.html#difference

C is actually lower level. Reason is especially the destructor and virtual functions. Besides the convenient stuff like operators.
closed account (2z0kLyTq)