Scientific Computing - Debugging Tools

Pages: 12
Greetings!

As a PhD student, I usually write programs from the domains of physical simulations, numerical algorithms or data science methods.
Examples of code snippets I deal with can be found in my previous threads
(eg. http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/283748/ )

It usually goes like this:
Spend some time coding.
Spend some time debugging.

The problem is that my debugging takes too much time, in particular debugging of logic errors, i.e. when my simulation executes but the results are "physically" impossible.
I debug the primitive way, by going through the code again and again, checking whether everything makes sense, and by printing out values of variables and so on.

I am aware that there are lots of powerful debugging tools. I want to ask for advice on the right tool for me, given that a) I am still very much a C++ novice, b) my programs are not that large (they can be coded up in a day or two), c) my domain is scientific computing.

edit:
I am on Linux (Ubuntu).

Any obvious hints?

Best,
PiF
Last edited on
Without knowing what platform you're on, it's impossible to recommend specific debuggers.

If you're on Windows, IMO Visual Studio's debugger is one of the best available.

A suggestion for less debugging time to write a small snippet, test the snippet, don't continue coding until you're sure the snippet is right. You should find this cuts down your debugging time substantially.

Thanks AbstractionAnon.
I edit my post to name the platform.

Do you use an IDE, if so there is probably a debugger inside it.

I debug the primitive way, by going through the code again and again, checking whether everything makes sense, and by printing out values of variables and so on.

Yes, that is definitely "Poor man's debugging": one can spend waste a lot of time doing that.

With a proper debugger, one can create a watchlist of variables, step through the code, see how the values change, deduce what went wrong.