Difficulty understanding for loop iteration results

Pages: 12
Hi, I am extremely new to C++, I apologise in advance if my question is long winded or difficult to follow but here I go. I am reading through a book called C++ for Dummies. In one of the examples used in the Arrays section we are given some code that asks the user to input numbers and the program will print out the average of those numbers. I don’t have a problem understanding the code itself but I do have a question regarding the results of a ‘for’ loop used in the program a couple of times. The first time it is used is here like this:

void displayArray(int nValues[100], int nCount)
{
    for(int i=0; i<nCount; i++)
    {
        cout.width(3);
        cout<<i<<"="<<nValues[i]<<endl;
    }
} 

In the program this gets printed out, If the numbers entered were 5,4,5,6 for example, the printout would read:
0 = 5
1 = 4
2 = 5
3 = 6

However, when the ‘for' loop is used again like this:

int averageArray(int nValues[100], int nCount)
{
    int nSum=0;
    for(int i=0; i<nCount; i++)
    {
        nSum+=nValues[i];
    }
    return nSum/nCount;
}

The nCount ends up equalling 4 (I know this because I added a small piece of my own code that I have not included here that gave my the print out of nSum and nCount).
My question is why doesn’t nCount equal 3? I understand the ‘for’ loop goes through four iterations but as the first number is 0 so why isn’t 3 the final number in this variable?
How many numbers are stored in your array? It looks like you have 4 numbers stored, so nCount will be 4.

The for loop is counting from 0 to 3.
Also watch out for integer division with code like this. Integer division truncates, so 9/11 is zero for example. If there is an average involved make the type of nsum and the function return double
If nCount entered that routine as 4 ... then it will stay as 4 thoughout. You don't change its value anywhere.

Are you sure that you are asking about the right variable?