does all stream object have buffer except cerr?

I just started learning about stream and I am not quite sure how it works.

correct me if I am wrong.
A buffer is a memory region in which data is stored temporarily and stream is a sequence of byte / flow of data.

I have a few question

how does stream buffer work in c++ stream object cin/cout/clog/fstream?

Are data being stored in the buffer before flushed to the screen using endl?

Thank you.
Stream buffers are used by streams for actual transport of characters to or from an external i/o device; they hold an internal buffer where these characters are buffered. The streams are responsible for parsing the input and formatting the output.

When we do: std::cout << std::setw(15) << number ; the stream formats the number in a field of width 15, and forwards the formatted characters to its associated stream buffer. The stream buffer may hold these in its internal buffer.

When we do: std::cout << std::flush ; the stream instructs the stream buffer to immediately send out the unwritten characters in its internal buffer to the external output device.

More information: http://www.angelikalanger.com/IOStreams/Excerpt/excerpt.htm
Last edited on
Yeah, by default, each std::iostream has a "built-in" buffer.

This means when writing data into the stream, the data is not written straight into the destination file, but is sent to the buffer first. Only when the buffer is full, or when the buffer is explicitly flushed, or when the stream is closed, then the buffer is actually written (flushed) into the file. Similarly, when reading data from a stream, then a full "block" of data is read from the file into the buffer, even if you only read a single byte. Subsequent reads are then served from the buffer, until the buffer becomes empty - then the next "block" is loaded.